A visit to the museum starts with the lobby where is exposed the certificate of registration of the old town in the list of monuments of world heritage of UNESCO on December 9, 1983
The museum has four rooms that chronologically track the development of the city through various historical eras.
The first hall is called “Messambria and the Thracians” and in it are exposed remains of bits of ancient Thracians – pottery with relief ornaments IX – VI century BC., Finds of stone anchors dating from the XII – IX in. BC The room is exposed and decree of III century BC. in honor of the Thracian dynast WADA. Among the exhibits is the treasure of silver coins – tetradrachms, and tombstone from II c. AD
In the second room of the museum – “Pontic Mesambria polis” – are laid open in the necropolis of Messambria four very rare hydrate (bronze vessels). They were used for funeral urns and below their vertical handles depicts a story from Greek mythology. Visitors can see more of the statue of Apollo, the torso of a statue of the god Heracles statue of the goddess of fortune Tyche, dating from the IV century BC and others. Among the exhibits are gold jewelery – earrings, rings, necklaces, from III and II century BC., Found between burial gifts in the tombs. In the waters around the Old Town and on the peninsula was discovered imported ceramics – bowls relief, kylikes, askoi etc., Which are testament to the commercial relations of Mesambria through VI – II century BC.
In the third room of the museum is exposed marble pedestal of the bronze statue of Emperor Claudius. The hall is called “Mesemvria within the confines of Rome, Byzantium and Bulgaria.” In 395, the division of the Roman Empire, Mesemvria remains in eastern and becomes a city with important economic and cultural influence. In VII in. The town became an important stronghold of the Byzantine Empire against the new Bulgarian state. The city was conquered by the Bulgarian ruler Khan Krum in 812 and then became part of the First Bulgarian State. From this period are exhibited in the museum pottery with gray clay. Shown is the collection of amphorae and white clay glazed vessels, providing information on trade relations with Constantinople of Nessebar and other shopping centers in IX – XII century. Its biggest bloom Nessebar experienced in the management of Bulgarian tsars Ivan Asen II (1218 – 1241), Todor Svetoslav (1300 – 1322) and particularly for Ivan Alexander (1331 – 1371) . Medieval churches are the greatest proof of the rise of Nessebar in XIII – XIV century. In this room is at the tombstone of Byzantine Princess Mataisa Kantakouzene Palaeologus, died in 1441
In the archaeological museum of Nessebar is a special room dedicated to art icon. After the fall of Bulgaria under Ottoman rule (XIV c.) In Nessebar formiramestna-painting which reached its peak of development during the XVI – XVII century. Today there are about 250 icons created by local painters and dozens of decorated churches of the city. The oldest examples of Nesebar school are XIII century. Since then, dating icons “Sv. Nikolay “and” Sv. Mary – ruler of life. ”
The museum can be purchased books, literature, guidebooks, postcards of all the museums in the city and souvenirs.